Easter Triduum begins… Behold!

The Easter Triduum begins today, Holy Thursday through Easter Sunday. (www.churchyear.net/triduum.html) Behold!  Behold the Lord of heaven and earth as He gives Himself fully for love of us.

 “Judas Iscariot… said: What are you willing to give me if I hand him over to you?” How much would you take or give in exchange for Jesus?

“They paid him thirty pieces of silver…” Thirty pieces of silver is the payment given if a person’s ox gores someone else’s slave (Exodus 21:32). Jesus is treated like a beast of burden by both Judas and the chief priests, though He came so that we may no longer be enslaved!

“Amen, I say to you, one of you will betray me. Deeply distressed at this, they began to say to him one after another, Surely it is not I, Lord?” We should be as quick to feel distress, indeed, horror at the thought that we could ever betray Him; but we should not be so quick to assume is could never happen to us, or we risk falling prey to the sin of presumption, becoming careless in humble self-examination.

“Take and eat; this is my body… Drink… for this is my blood…” So clear! So simple! So amazingly unexpected and life-giving!

“This night all of you will have your faith in me shaken…” See. Beware. Be ready. Be not self-assured, self-reliant, or boastful.

“Even though I should have to die with you, I will not deny you.” Yes, I too, like St. Peter and other saints, would rather die than deny. But it can and does happen. Save us, Lord!

“My soul is sorrowful even to death. Remain here and keep watch with me.” A Holy Hour, this week and every week can work wonders – and bring great consolation to the Sacred Heart of the Risen Lord Jesus who still suffers the loss of so many of those he died to redeem.

“My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet, not as I will, but as you will.” That’s the goal of life: to always want and do the Father’s will – not matter the cost!

“Watch and pray that you may not undergo the test. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Very weak! Pray today! Every “today.”

“The man I shall kiss is the one; arrest him.” With a kiss you betray the Love of the world, Judas…? That’s not what a kiss is for! God forbid we ever do the same! Love the Lord with your whole being and thy neighbor as yourself, as Christ has loved us!

“…that the writings of the prophets may be fulfilled.” God has a plan – and he might even show you part of it now. But be docile at all times, so that the entire plan may be fulfilled as it’s meant to unfold.

“I order you to tell us under oath before the living God whether you are the Christ, the Son of God… He has blasphemed!” Some people simply cannot and will not hear and accept Truth. Still, we intercede for all, as Jesus did from the cross.

“He deserves to die!” Our verdict, our sentence, was pronounced. Good thing Jesus took our place.

“You too were with Jesus the Galilean… I do not know what you are talking about.” Ouch.

 “This man was with Jesus the Nazorean… I do not know the man!” No! Don’t say that!

 “Surely you too are one of them; even your speech gives you away… I do not know the man!”  So sad… Peter said this as he began to swear, having denied it with an oath before. I just wish my speech would always give me away; that others could always recognize me as a disciple of Christ by my words, my actions, my love. St. Peter, pray for us, that we may not fail the test!

Behold the Man… Behold the mystery…

Behold yourself in the events that we commemorate, relive, interiorize, and allow to transform our lives.

Leave a Reply

